I wanted to add some additional notes on taxes and the withholding issues I have discussed in my previous posts.  I was talking with my sister-in-law last night about going on vacation together with our families and she had mentioned about waiting to see what their tax situation looked liked.  They have two children that would qualify for the tax credit, but she has told me they will have to write a check to the government this year where they have not had to in the past.  They have not changed anything  from last years tax filing to this year and make about the same amount of money they made last year.  So the only conclusion is the “Making Work Provision” in the “American Recovery and Reinvestment act of 2009!!  This has happened to me, friends of ours and now my sister-in-law!!  I know this is a very small sampling of people, but my guess is that this is happening to people and families all over the nation and they are just finding out about it! This bill was passed by Congress by a vote of 244-188 so even though most Democrats voted for the bill I really don’t care because none of our representatives should have voted for it if the outcome would be to screw over the middle class when tax time rolled.

Again I think we should all pay our fair share as I am not some kind of anti tax kook.  I just want my government to be honest with me and say “look, we are putting this extra money in your check so you may want to review your withholding etc… so you won’t get hit with a tax bill at the end of the year”.  I don’t remember getting that memo and if it was sent out somebody please let me know!!   I hate to use this cliché, but the “squeaky wheel gets oiled” and I am going to do a lot of squeaking!! It may not change much but at least I can say I tried and I recommend you all do that as well.

