I have posted previously on my work as a property-casualty claims adjuster and wanted to incorporate a post into what I talked about yesterday in my observation of people.  One of the things I like about my job is the negotiation aspect of it especially when it comes to mediation.  This is where the court will order a mediation between the insurance company and the plaintiff.  In one room is our defense council and myself and the other party and their attorney.  There is also a mediator that attempts to get both parties to agree to a settlement.

My approach to this process has changed over the years.  When I was new the mediator would come into our room to get our position and would focus the questioning on me and I would always look at our attorney to answer.  Over the years I have realized this is a negotiation tactic to focus on me probably because I did not look like I knew what I was doing which was true.  Now I have the confidence to speak my mind and give it right back.  This is not a criticism as we all have are responsibility in this process but I acknowledge that this is how the negotiation process works.

What I have learned in my observation of people is that you have to get a feel right away from where everyone stands.  I have learned over the years in all aspects of my life to be a “practiced observer” and it has served me well.  I have heard it said “you need to know if the bear is on your back porch our out in your yard”. Translation, once I know what is going on I can respond appropriately to what I am facing in my work and personal life.

