I posted the other day about my son and how he feels about his girlfriend and why he likes her and I have told him that sometimes you cannot help who you like. I told him I don’t get this feeling but it is within you and if by liking this girl is not a good situation then he must learn how to control or fight this feeling and move on.  This got me to thinking about life in general and about other feelings that come upon us like Anger, Greed, Lust, Jealousy and some addictions like Drugs, Alcohol etc.. and reminded of a story in the bible about Cain and Abel that seems to apply to these kind of situations.

If you are not aware of the story Cain became angry because the Lord looked favorable on Abel’s offering and Cain ended up killing Able.  But the verse that truly speaks to me reads as follows: Gen 4:6-7  Then the Lord said to Cain, “Why are you angry? Why is your face downcast? If you do what is right, will you not be accepted? But if you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at your door; it desires to have you, but you must master it.”  The last statement is “you must learn to master it” I believe is very important. Whether you are a religious person or not only we can control our emotions. God did not say he would remove these problems from us but we must master it.  It is just like Tiger Woods, he does not have a mental problem that needs therapy he did what he did because he liked it and somehow this may be how he is wired and he got out of control.  He did not “master” his issue and look at the consequences.

I realize there are people who truly have mental disorders and need medication to correct it.   I am only talking about basic human emotions that lead us down the wrong road and then disaster strikes!!  It is a constant battle everyday to “master’ these issues in our life and when we don’t they can lead to what has happened to Woods or to Cain by killing his brother because he was angry. I truly do not know what the answer is to all of this , but when God told Cain he must “master it”, this really gave me a new perspective on how to try to deal with the issues in life that can crop up everyday, so I just try to master them one day at a time.

