It has been reported in the news that the United States has just made an agreement with Russia for a reduction in nuclear warheads to a level of 1,500.  These reductions have been taking place since the first START agreement signed in 1991 which each country had almost 10,000 warheads which was probably to many in the first place.  Overall, I believe a reduction in warheads is a good idea. I an all reality that is more than enough destroy Russia and vice versa.

But I wonder what these other countries like Iran and North Korea plan on doing? I mean like Iran for example, we are told they are trying to acquire Nuclear Weapons and if this is the case then we should keep more than enough to make sure they understand we have a deterrent in case they decide to use them or better yet give to some terrorists.  Obviously, in a case like Iran 1,500 warheads is enough for a deterrent, I just don’t think our country should reduce their arsenal to the point where one of these other countries think we are weak.  However, I would mainly worry that a country like Iran would try to give a nuclear weapon to a terrorist group, but it makes you wonder why it has not already happened?

I have two possible theories why I think this not happened: 1)We have done a good job with the help of other nations in trying to keep this from happening. 2)I also believe that a country like Iran has been told through back channels that if a terrorist group explodes a nuclear device here we would retaliate with nuclear weapon against them.  This in only a theory, but I think they know we mean it because look at Iraq!! We invaded them and didn’t have anything to do with 9/11 so I believe this is why Iran has not pursued this course of sharing nuclear technology with terrorist groups because they have some understanding the U.S. would probably do this.

Obviously, if the world was rid of nuclear weapons this would be a good thing, but until such day occurs we should keep more than enough to ensure the security of this country.

I have posted a link about the agreement.

