I had left off with my dad coming back to my state from California and staying at my half brothers house and then my mom moved him back in with her. She was in the upstairs apartment in our complex and me, my wife and son who was a baby at the time living in the downstairs apartment.  This was about 20 years ago, but the best I can remember he stayed there about 6 months.  We would walk up stairs and visit and had my dad down to my apartment for dinner.  While he had not been part of my life I was willing to try to work at some kind of relationship but he was still an alcoholic so any chance at a relationship was small, but I was willing to try.

I don’t know all that happened while he stayed with mom, but I could tell things were not going well, he was still drinking and becoming belligerent like my mom said he was when they were married.  I tried to talk to him about my faith in God hoping this might make a change, but it was hard to do as we did not have a relationship so I just left my bible there hoping he might read it.  My mom told me after he moved out that he had told her he has two sons “one that is a Jesus freak” (that would be me) and another “son that is a drunk” (this would be my half-brother). I never thought I was a “Jesus Freak” but I have a faith and hope in God and willing to share for what He has done for me and the mercy He shows me as well and I was trying to do the same for my dad.

Right before my dad left he and my half-brother had been to the track and apparently been drinking and fighting and had come back to the parking lot of our apartment complex. He and my half-brother were in the parking lot fighting and someone called the police and I came out to see what was going on. My half-brother left and my mom went back into the apartment so that left me out there with my dad and the police and now he had nowhere to go. The police said if he doesn’t go somewhere they would have to take him to jail. To me know matter what he had done by leaving us or being a drunk I couldn’t let him go to jail so I told the police I would take care of.  I drove him to a local motel and said mom does not want you back and you have to leave.  I didn’t like telling someone who no one wants them as I think this would be a horrible way to live but I had to say it.  I had a test the next day so my father in law gathered up his clothes and his car and took them to the motel where he was staying.  At this point my dad left town and stayed with his mother for a little while before making his final stop to stay with his brother in Florida.

Again, I tell this story for a little background on my current family dilemma.  I hated that things turned out the way they did and that I could not have a dad to count on or ask advice about things as I got older. Some things in life are just common sense and you know what to do, but other times you need another man to bounce things off of that you can’t ask your mother and this is what I missed.  I have had to forge ahead and to the best that I can and do not want to dwell on the past as none of us should because you can’t do anything about it now.

I will post more of the story in my next post.

