Today my wife had to have outpatient surgery so we arrived at 11:00 o’clock as instructed.  She does have health insurance through her employer and has $500 remaining on her deductible and the hospital had told her on the phone this would need to be paid at registration!!  Now I thought this was crap as even thought she has a deductible and the money was owed we were basically paying for a service that had not been rendered and what if we were not satisfied!!

So in order to let her go ahead and have the procedure and get it over with we put it on the credit card and trust me the service we were provided at the beginning of the day was less than stellar. By the time they had us running from one end of the hospital to the other the surgery was 2 hours late!!  It was obvious if one knew what the other was doing all of this would have occurred on time.  And another thing about having to pay this $500 dollars today is the fact that we have insurance and “work” which is made known to the provider. Rest assured if an illegal walked through the door or somebody with no money I bet they would get treatment and not hassled over $500 as soon as you walk through the door!!

I have never been an advocate of government-run healthcare but because of what I describe above it will most certainly happen.  The illegals and the poor are getting healthcare whether they can pay or not and the folks like us that have insurance are paying out of our pocket or through higher insurance premiums.   So I say go ahead and give these people their healthcare and charge me one premium so every time I go the doctor or hospital I don’t have to pre-pay for services and then be disappointed in the result!

 

